top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Amazing Filter

Ever wonder what your

camera really sees? The true spectrum of light is not only digitized in the camera's sensor but a DSLR camera has such sensitive processors that these processors also pick up unnatural light that is caused by light pollution.

The night sky contains much pollution such as salts, mercury, radiation, carbon monoxide and sulfurs which are constantly being emitted into our atmosphere. With the constant burning of street lamps and city lights, these lights burn fuel and create a vapor that is pushed into the air and when mixed with mercury and vapor salts that creates this ugly red tint on our pictures.



WHAT FILTER IS THE RIGHT ONE FOR YOU?


There are various types of filters ranging from color filters; Moon filters, UHC, CLS and many others that come in a variety of sizes such as 1.25; 2 inch and even clip filters for your EOS camera.

In the picture below we see various 1.25' filters that fit the standard eyepiece and they are moon filter, polarizer filter, color filters and a UHC Ultra High Contrast Filter. Mounted in the camera is the Astronomik CLS EOS Clip Filter which is a light suppression filter designed to block out artificial light.



WHAT I EXPERIENCED WITH THESE FILTERS!


Most of the filters I used were substandard in my opinion. Please do not be discouraged by this post. When I say substandard I mean when observing they were great but when imagining they just did not make the grade except for one. The Astronomik CLS EOS Clip Filter!


On my first night out with this filter; my expectations where very low. When I read the specs on this filter and what it can do; my first reaction was there was no way this filter could block out most artificial light without blocking out most natural light.

As the first exposure came in; I had to rub my eyes to make sure what I was seeing was really on my screen. I am not the most optimistic person you will ever meet. I have my moments of doubt but after seeing the photos come in; I went from not believing to believing.

I could not believe how much this small filter which is about the size of a silver dollar could do to a photo. It changed the photo dramatically in just one single short exposure. Before I used this amazing filter by Astronomik. I myself or my brother would spend hours editing and cleaning up our images to make them cleaner and presentable. This filter receives 5 out of 5 stars.










WHAT'S COMING?


Soon I will be receiving another great filter from Astronomik called the UHC filter. I wait in anticipation to test out this new filter. I have no doubts now about their filters and my expectations are high and they should be because Astronomik makes amazing filters for not only observing but for imaging deep space objects.


I highly recommend using their filters whether you are only observing the wonders of heaven; but more importantly if you're planning on doing Astrophotography. You will not be disappointed but rather amazed at the dramatic changes it makes to your images.


Clear Skies!


http://www.astronomik.com/en/clip-filter/clip-filter-canon-aps-c.html


247 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page